Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to print the lines between the pattern using awk/grep/sed? Post 302660689 by agama on Friday 22nd of June 2012 10:48:43 PM
Old 06-22-2012
Have a go with this:

Code:
awk '
    function print_last(    i )
    {
        if( keep )
            for( i = 0; i < cidx; i++ )
                print cache[i];
        printf( "\n" );                 # extra whitespace
    }

/hotelCancelReservation request:/ { print_last( ); cidx = keep = 0 }
    /errorCode=1008/ { keep = 1; }
    { cache[cidx++] = $0; }

END { print_last( ); }
' input-file >output-file

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to awk/sed/grep lines which contains a pattern at a given position

Dear friends I am new to linux and was trying to split some files userwise in our linux server. I have a data file of 156 continuous columns named ecscr final. I want the script to redirect all the lines containing a pattern of 7 digits to separate files. I was using grep to do that,... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: anoopvraj
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed print all lines after pattern match

HiCan someone show me how to print all lines from a file after a line matching a pattern using sed?Thanks (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: steadyonabix
13 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Print the above and below lines for the grep pattern.

Hi, i would like to get the above and below lines of the grep pattern . For ex : file as below: chk1- aaaa 1-Nov chk2 -aaaa ########## chk1-bbbbbb 1-Nov chk2-bbbbbb ######### my search pattern is date : 1-Nov i need the o/p as below chk1- aaaa 1-Nov (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: expert
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK: Grep Pattern and print help

I wanted to get outcome from a big file with pattern quoted: Line FSP LSP SR RL Test1 100 300 4 4000 Test2 1 300 2 300 Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you. (15 Replies)