Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Issue with UTF-8 BOM character in text file Post 302657843 by jim mcnamara on Monday 18th of June 2012 11:39:52 AM
Old 06-18-2012
Can you not transfer it using ftp in ASCII mode instead of using a windows app?

Unix tools for windows do exist - they are free. You can install cygwin on your PC or simply download unixtools for windows

UnxUtils | Free software downloads at SourceForge.net

Cygwin

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Finding files with UTF-8 BOM

Hi, there: I am relatively new to Unix. So, I am not even sure if I am asking is an easy or difficult task. I want to peform GREP like command which will generate a list of files with a file format of UTF-8. I would especially like to know whether the files use UTF-8 or UTF-8N (in other... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: kotoponus
0 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

need to read 3° character from a text file

Hi, I need a script to read the n° character from a text file. eg: if the text file contains the line "123456" ,I nedd a command to display the number 4, as an example. I tried with awk and printf but it seems only works with words separated with spaces, but in this case I have only one word... (15 Replies)
Discussion started by: piltrafa
15 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Convert UTF-8 encoded hex value to a character

Hi, I have a non-ascii character (Ŵ), which can be represented in UTF-8 encoding as equivalent hex value (\xC5B4). Is there a function in unix to convert this hex value back to display the charcter ? (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: sumirmehta
10 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Deleting all instances of a certain character from a text file