Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Backup script to split and tar files Post 302657491 by ganitolngyundre on Sunday 17th of June 2012 11:52:08 PM
Old 06-18-2012
Thank you Chubler_XL for the input.

But I already created a directory where in all of the users copy their files for backup. My task now is to compress it and split it less than 5GB automatically. In preparation for backup to amazon s3.

I think it is possible in bash scripting, but since I'm a newbie here. I find it difficult to do the task. Can anyone give me sample of their bash script related on this topic? or any sites that can help me to solved this problem?

Thank you very much.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to process the files using .tar.gz files in script

Hi, I have some file in /users/xyz directoty with .tar.gz extension. i need to find these files and if found in need to run other commands. I now the command for finding files,but how to put if condition ?please help me Thanks (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: bmkreddy
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Diff. Backup Script Using TAR. Should be simple.

I'm specifically trying to find help or insight on using the --incremental ('-G') option for creating a tar. Please resist the urge to tell me to use --listed-incremental ('-g') option. That's fairly well documented in the GNU tar manual. GNU tar 1.19 This is what the manual does say in section... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: protienplant
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem with tar in a backup script

I had an idea of very-very easy bacup script that packs ALL of the files in current dir (including the subfulders and with spaces in name), packs them with tar+gz and moves to a directory. I'm using Cywin under WinXP. But I have a problem with tar. When I do in a single line "tar -rf... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: TennageWerewolf
2 Replies