Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: void pointer
Top Forums Programming void pointer Post 302655727 by shamrock on Wednesday 13th of June 2012 03:23:47 PM
Old 06-13-2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by vlm
it worked fine.But when I did this for many void* in a loop

Code:
main(){
   void** a;
   a=(void**)malloc(n*sizeof(void*));
   for(int i=0;i<n;i++)
      fun(a[i]);//call the same function as above
}

void fun(void **b){
  //do things
}

it returns segmentation fault.
Dont know what code is inside fun but you cant dereference a void*...besides a[i] is a void* not void** so definition of fun needs to change to "void fun(void *b) {...}"
This User Gave Thanks to shamrock For This Post:

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sorting the Void File in CSH

First and foremost, this is not a homework for your information. I'm just new to using c-shell programming and I just wanted to make my life easier @ work. Say, the file contains the following: ID FILE NO. SL VP 1 1 22 33 1 2 ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ilak1008
3 Replies

2. Programming

How to return void function pointer

Hello all im trying to build function that will return void function pointer what is mean is ( not working ) the main function void * myClass::getFunction(int type){ if(type==1) return &myClass::Test1; if(type==2) return &myClass::Test2; } void myClass::Test1(){... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: umen
1 Replies

3. Programming

What is the difference between f(...), f(void) and f()

What is the difference between f(...) , f(void),f() I know that f(void) doesn't take any parameters, but what about f() and f(...) Does the last call of function even exists? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: purplelightspar
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

void (char *asd)

void asdf(char *asd) is this thing a pointer? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: khestoi
1 Replies

5. Programming

pass a pointer-to-pointer, or return a pointer?