Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Please suggest alternative to grep Post 302652271 by niladri29 on Thursday 7th of June 2012 01:01:28 AM
Old 06-07-2012
Thanks Guru for your prompt response Smilie
But my 2nd file size is 15 GB, and the 1st file size is 5 GB. So just wanted to know can this proces be made faster.
I was also was wondering if the lines (as obtained from file2) can be arranged as per the search lines present in file1.

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Can you suggest a more efficient way for this?

Hi I have the following at the end of a service shutdown script used in part of an active-passive failover setup: ### # Shutdown all primary Network Interfaces # associated with failover ### # get interface names based on IP's # and shut them down to simulate loss of # heartbeatd ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mikie
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

suggest book

Hi I am new to Unix/Linux I know commands and shell scripts which are useful for my project. But i need to know the basics and commands and shell scripts in detail and easy guide. Please refer a book. Thanks Haripatn (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: haripatn
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Grep alternative to handle large numbers of files

I am looking for a file with 'MCR0000000716214' in it. I tried the following command: grep MCR0000000716214 * The problem is that the folder I am searching in has over 87000 files and I am getting the following: bash: /bin/grep: Arg list too long Is there any command I can use that can... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: runnerpaul
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Alternative to grep

How to find a particular line in a file without using grep? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: proactiveaditya
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need best grep option or alternative