Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Shell string array
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Shell string array Post 302642697 by Scrutinizer on Friday 18th of May 2012 12:23:49 AM
Old 05-18-2012
/bin/sh on Ubuntu is dash, it is fast, but no-thrills and strictly POSIX compliant shell and therefore it does not know arrays. Arrays should not be used in combination with /bin/sh (on any system), if it does work it is pure happenstance.

Use /bin/bash or /bin/ksh (which is /bin/ksh93) instead..

Last edited by Scrutinizer; 05-18-2012 at 02:29 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

string to array

Hi Experts, I'm new to Shell Scripting world and need a little help from you "Scripting Gurus". I want to convert a string (entered by a user) to array in csh. I want something like this: echo "Enter the Numbers: " set num = $< Suppose, user enters: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 This... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: sumitgarg
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to hold string array in shell scripts

Gents, Below is the Shell script which I am trying to hold a string of array that is passed from a java file. But it is not working . Can any one please help me to by fixing it. #!/bin/csh/ set copy = ($argv) echo $copy >> /home/users/bavananr/rrr.log echo $copy >>... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: brajesh
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

PERL : Read an array and write to another array with intial string pattern checks

I have an array and two variables as below, I need to check if $datevar is present in $filename. If so, i need to replace $filename with the values in the array. I need the output inside an ARRAY How can this be done. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks in advance. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: irudayaraj
2 Replies

4. Homework & Coursework Questions

passing letters from an array into a string for string comparison