Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: List the file with a dot
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting List the file with a dot Post 302623789 by alfonsopilato on Saturday 14th of April 2012 03:42:55 PM
Old 04-14-2012
Hi everyone,

I'm by no means an expert on the topic, however it has occured to me that

Code:
ls -la .*test

will not work

because the bash interpreter will decode this as "look for all files that have an extention whose patters is : <any combination >test.

what I'm trying to say is the dot (.) is interpreted here as the extension delimiter. It is not interpreted as "files that are hidden".

I tested ls -la .*test on gentoo linux and it definitely does not return the hidden file called "test".

In my own simplistic way, because I'm not a pro, I worked out the following solution (I'm certain there are better):

Code:
ls -la | grep 'test'

I realise it's listing EVERYTHING and only grabbing whatever has the pattern "test" in it, and this may or may not be what you want, however that's what I was able to summon with my limited knowledge and free time.

Please, I invite you to refine my search.

Last edited by Scrutinizer; 04-14-2012 at 05:50 PM.. Reason: lingo, code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace path in a file with dot

Hi, I have a file with below values. /uvxapps/etl/Ascential/DataStage/DSEngine/dsenv.orig /uvxapps/etl/Ascential/DataStage/DSEngine/dsenv /uvxapps/etl/Ascential/DataStage/DSEngine/sample/.cshrc /uvxapps/etl/Ascential/DataStage/DSEngine/sample/.login... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: njoshi
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

command to list dot files

hey. i am a bit new to unix and i am trying to figure out how to list the names of the 'dot' files that are in my account. what command does this? thank you very much for your help. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jakeman1086
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

use dot file in linux