Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Running ffmpeg in loop seems to change reading from file Post 302623733 by Thriceguy on Saturday 14th of April 2012 12:36:48 PM
Old 04-14-2012
Running ffmpeg in loop seems to change reading from file

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to shell scripting. I want to read in numbers from a file (one number per line). This works perfectly fine

Code:

while read CurrentLine
do
echo $CurrentLine
done < myfile

and yields the correct output:

Code:

If I however run a ffmpeg command in the loop

Code:

while read CurrentLine
do
echo $CurrentLine
ffmpeg -sameq -vframes 1 -ss 2 -i PMI_thin_02.avi -f image2  a_b.png
done < myfile

the output changes (I ommit the ffmpeg output and just give the echo command output):

Code:

If I add two spaces in the txt-file I read in, such as

Code:

the echo command returns the right numbers again - for some reason, the ffmpeg commands seems to result in the skipping of the first two characters in the new line.
If I put an additional for-loop around the while loop to loop over several files such as in

Code:

for FileName in *.txt; do
	while read CurrentLine
	do
	echo $CurrentLine
ffmpeg -sameq -vframes 1 -ss 2 -i PMI_thin_02.avi -f image2  a_b.png
	done < "${FileName}"

The first line of every file is read in correctly, but for all subsequent lines, the first two characters are skipped. Does anybody have any idea what is going on? I am very grateful for any hint.

Best,
Thriceguy

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. HP-UX

How to make a loop base on reading a file?

Need help on making a loop script base on what is inside a file... File to read: List.txt List.txt contains below w/c are file name as well: SAMPLEa SAMPLEb SAMPLEc SAMPLEd SAMPLEe SAMPLEf . . . Want to make a loop that will manipulate those that are inside the file.txt w/c are... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: JohnBalayo
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting