Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: script for backup database
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting script for backup database Post 302619913 by methyl on Friday 6th of April 2012 10:55:39 AM
Old 04-06-2012
Code:
5 * * * * \usr\bin\sh\mysqldump -h localhost -u username-ppassword cms> /home/dbbackup.sql.

Threre are several problems with this crontab line.
1) The \ characters should be / characters. This is unix not MSDOS.
2) There is a trailing . character which is not required (delete it).
3) The cron will execute at 5 minutes past the hour every hour 7/24. Hope this is intentional? It will not execute at 05:00.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

MYSQL command to take a backup of the database in Redhat linux 7.2

I am new to mysql database , we have a mysql database running on linux , and we use mysql database for bugzilla, so we wanted to take a backup . what is the command for taking the entire database backup from the command prompt with all options. Thanks in advance Bache Gowda (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: bache_gowda
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Backup of Product Database

HI, I know its scarey me asking this, but system is homegrown and I am just having fun, but at the same time dont want to have tooo much fun where the phrase "little knowledge is dangerous" perfectly fits my actions ;-). I have a couple of packages that are failing to be removed... #... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Student37
2 Replies

3. Solaris

Veritas DataBase Backup

hi , we have a monthly policy for database backups . the database is a huge one about 200 GB in size and every month , we shut down the database and take a full system backup . my question is : Is there a way to know that i have taken a valid backup, I need to do something like a test restore... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: ppass
5 Replies

4. UNIX and Linux Applications

Problem with Database backup