Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Need a shell script to compare two directories and produces the output Post 302613371 by muraliinfy04 on Tuesday 27th of March 2012 07:04:16 AM
Old 03-27-2012
Bug Need a shell script to compare two directories and produces the output

Hi,
I am using solaris OS 10 and Bash shell.I need a script which will compare the two directories and produces the output.
Step 1: In detail say suppoose I have machine one and have a directory dir1. Script should iterate through the directories and subdirectories inside and produce the output say output1.txt.

second step: I have a machine 2 and directory say dir2.script again iterate through the directories and subdirectories inside and produce an output say output2.txt

third step: need to compare the two files say output1.txt and output2.txt and if you found any difference in the two output files generate the output to new text file say output3.txt.

I am new to shell scripting. Appreciate your help on it.

Last edited by DukeNuke2; 03-27-2012 at 08:11 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Linux

vgscan produces no output using file descriptors on Oracle Enterprise Linux.

I wrote a simple program which will create a child process to execute a command and the output will be redirected to the file. Please have a look at the following code -> #include <stdio.h> #include <stdlib.h> #include <sys/stat.h> #include <fcntl.h> void execute(char **argv) { ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: sandiworld
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

compare files in two directories and output changed files to third directory

I have searched about 30 threads, a load of Google pages and cannot find what I am looking for. I have some of the parts but not the whole. I cannot seem to get the puzzle fit together. I have three folders, two of which contain different versions of multiple files, dist/file1.php dist/file2.php... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: bkeep