Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Advice needed regarding Unix doc/book Post 302610149 by balajesuri on Wednesday 21st of March 2012 02:11:53 AM
Old 03-21-2012
Welcome to the forum:
Check this link, specifically post #2: https://www.unix.com/unix-dummies-que...me-basics.html

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Linux

programming advice needed....

i'm a grad student taking a UNIX course and a networks course (i have a background in C++ and JAVA). i'm trying to combine the two classes. My questions stems from a networks programming homework assignment below: "Using the operating system and language of your choice, develop a program to... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: trostycp
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix book (urgent help needed)

hi guys i am new to UNIX and i am very much excited to learn how it works.. i was very confused with how to start and what book to follow so i went to my lecturer and asked him if he could suggest something. he advised me to get this book Your UNIX: The Ultimate Guide by "Sumitabha Das" ISBN:... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: prabhashkashyap
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

eval problem.. advice needed!

Hi I need some major help with eval I have a statement using eval: read input eval variable$input=”something” Now I want to use the “variable$input” in some commands but I don't know how to call it without replacing the $input with the command line value (which I obviously can't do). ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Cactus Jack
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

'for' loop advice needed ....!!

/usr/sbin/ifconfig -a | grep "inet" | grep -v "inet6" | grep -v "127.0.0.1" | grep -v "0.0.0.0"|grep -v "192.168.100.2" | awk '{print $2}' I use above command to get IP addresses on AIX boxes.Values coming here are set to a variable "Host IPs.IP Addresses" in my fingerprinting engine. ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ak835