Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: spawn() Vs. fork()
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users spawn() Vs. fork() Post 302606370 by anandgodse on Sunday 11th of March 2012 01:24:10 AM
Old 03-11-2012
Bug spawn() Vs. fork()

what is diffenrence between spawn and fork ?

"fork() system call spawns the processess" what is mean by this sentence.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

spawn: not found

Hi, I'm very new to UNIX. I need to FTP a file to a remote host. It happens through a port 2222.I need to automate the process as the SCP command prompts for a password. 1) The regular ftp, tells me that the connection is refused 2) The sftp login@remotehost gives me... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: sandy.cog
0 Replies

2. Solaris

Spawn Not Found

I need to run the spawn command but when I typed it in, I got "ksh: spawn: not found". So, I downloaded spawn-fcgi but it required to be compiled first. The compile failed when I tried it. I need a copy that's ready to be used. Unix system info: OS: Sun Solaris 2.8 Shell: ksh Does... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: april
4 Replies

3. Programming

spawn a process with a different user

Hello Everyone: I have the following code int main() { system("/usr/OtherUser/bin/runX"); return 0; } runX must be executed with privileges from another user, how could I do that? I know the password for such user. Thanks in advance (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: edgarvm
8 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using spawn and expect getting error

#!/bin/sh # # set -x stty -echo; read -p "Input password:" A; stty echo; echo; for HOST in `cat elc.hosts.list` do # echo "Connecting to $HOST" expect -c "set timeout -1;\ spawn sshr $HOST -l root \"mkdir /perfstat;\";\ match_max 100000;\ expect *'/root/.ssh/id_dsa':*;\ send --... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: madlot
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Spawn snmptrap from python