Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Folders and Files Inventory
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Folders and Files Inventory Post 302604608 by methyl on Monday 5th of March 2012 12:07:17 PM
Old 03-05-2012
In addition to owner and group name, will each user retain their original numeric UID and GID - or are they different on the new computer?

What software do you have available to copy the files?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to Differentiate Between Files and Folders?

Hi All, I'm a rookie using HPUX and I know this is going to sound like a bonehead question, but when I list the contents of a directory, how can I determine which objects are files and which are folders? I'm using the ll and ls commands to lists the contents. So far I've been determining the... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: dgower2
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

removing old files except configuration files and folders

Dear all, I want to remove files older than 2 months in the /home/member directory. But except the configuration files (like .bash_profile .config/ .openoffice/ .local/ .kde/ etc..) I have tried with the command find . -mtime +60 -wholename './.*' -prune -o -print -exec mv {} \; but it... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jamcalicut
1 Replies

3. HP-UX

to get the timestamp of files from the files and folders in Unix

Hi, I had a directory and many subdirectories and files with in it. Now i want to get the timestamp of files from the files and folders recursively. :( Please help me to generate a script fort he above mentioned requirement! Appreciate for ur qick response Thanks in advance! ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kishan
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Move folders containing certain files