Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Parameter Expansion with regular expression Post 302603557 by Shell_Life on Thursday 1st of March 2012 10:28:23 AM
Old 03-01-2012
Code:
#!/bin/ksh
mX="https://abc.com/dir1/dir2/dir3/dir4/somefile.java"
echo ${mX} | sed 's#.*dir3/##'

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Regular expression as parameter

Hello everybody, I have a problem with creating a script which allows a single parameter to be passed. Sorry if I'm not expert, I'm new at this and . The code is if ; then echo "Something" exit fi ...does other things... grep -i $1 $TEMPUSERS > $USERSFILE COUNT=`wc -l... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Gnappo
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help with parameter expansion

Say you have this numeric variable that can be set by the user but you never want it to leave a certain range when it gets printed. How could you use parameter expansion such that it will never expand outside of that boundary? Thanks ---------- Post updated at 11:09 PM ---------- Previous update... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: stevenswj
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash parameter expansion from a config file

Hi - I am trying to do a simple config file with known variable names in it, e.g.: contents of config file a.conf: -a -b $work -c $host simplified contents of bash script file: work='trunk' host='alaska' opts=$(tr '\n' ' ' < a.conf) opts="$opts $*" mycommand $opts arg1 arg2 The... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mrengert
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Passing in regular expression as a parameter to sed

Hi All, Im using Bash. I have a pipe delimited config file which contains 3 columns, 1st column = location of a file to be chnaged 2 column = expression to find within file 3rd column = string to replace. A script will loop through the contetnts of this file and apply the changes using... (2 Replies)