Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with Bash piped while-read and a read user input at the same time Post 302601421 by MyMorris on Thursday 23rd of February 2012 03:54:12 PM
Old 02-23-2012
Help with Bash piped while-read and a read user input at the same time

Hi
I am new to writing script and want to use a Bash Piped while-read and read from user input.

if something happens on server.log then do while loop or if something happend on user input then do while loop.

Pseudocode something like:
tail -n 3 -f server.log | while read serverline || read -p # -e promptline
do
if something happend on promptline then do this
if something happend serverline then do this

I appreciate all help.
Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

getline to read input from a user

Hi, The gcc compiler has warned about using gets(), so I've been trying my hand at getline. Problem is that I've been able to read from a file, but what I really need is to read from a user's input. I want to use getline like a scanf() command, but I can't figure what to substitute for the fp... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: sdsd
6 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to read a line of text from user input?

Hiii I wanna a read a line of text from standard input. The user enter data like this way name phone_no month1_salary month2_salary that is user enter the name ,phone no and salary of 2 months in a single line by giving spaces. I wanna add the 3rd and 4th fields ...ie add both... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: krishnampkkm
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

BASH - read use a path as input

I am trying to script simply data transfer. I would like to have the user input the source "SRC" (/Volumes/DriveName/Users/johnq123) and then name the directory that the copied information will go to, "DST" . put I can't get it to work - #!/bin/bash ... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: dropkick888