Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting inconsistent output using date() Post 302600675 by mdlloyd7 on Tuesday 21st of February 2012 10:56:06 PM
Old 02-21-2012
It is an "ell" -- so I think that is good. I'm new to shell/bash, so forgive my ignorance, but how do I check to see if my bash has the strftime built in?

thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

Inconsistent memory usage display

When i was trying to store a file of size 743 MB into a directory i got a msg. that the disk is full. But when i used the df -k . command on that directory it showed only 40% in usage and the disk had more than enough memory for the file. When i checked the syslog i found that at that instant of... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: spdas
2 Replies

2. HP-UX

Why are these inconsistent?

Hi I am using HP - UX... When I execute the below commands I get these results... Why do i get a different shell value when i run echo $SHELL? # echo $0 ksh # echo $SHELL sh # ps -p$$ PID TTY TIME COMMAND 4013 pts/7 0:00 ksh (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: gurubarancse
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Inconsistent variable assignment issue

I am using a piece of code which is working fine in some cases and is not working in some other instances. All I am doing is grep'ing and concatenating. Below is a working scenario. $ echo $var1 REPLYFILENAME=Options_NSE1.txt.enc $ FILE_NM=`echo ${var1##*=}`.gz (Take everything after... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jamjam10k
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

inconsistent cat output

Hi I'm executing a menu script in which I `cat a file` but it's giving different output some times. Following is the code fragment taken from my script. while true do cat procs.configured echo ---------separator-------------- sleep 3 done when I execute this code fragment, `cat` outputs... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: axes
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting