Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Red Hat How to detect kind of command for root only? Post 302599378 by all4cfa on Friday 17th of February 2012 02:04:37 AM
Old 02-17-2012
Thanks Visal,

But i want to know exactly the difference between "run command" and "perform command" as you said.

I mean i can "perform": fdisk -h but cannot fdisk -l.

Additionally, how i can check or recognize what commands only perform by root because command to show permission (ls -la) not clear.

thanks all much,

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Some kind of message command

Hello All, hope someone here can help me with this. I am a new unix system administrator on the HP-UX machine. Every night, our operators back up our file system using one tape but as of recently, our files have gotten bigger and it now requires 2 tapes for a complete backup. Since the operators... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sanjit
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Run non-root script as root with non-root environment

All, I want to run a non-root script as the root user with non-root environment variables with crontab. The non-root user would have environment variables for database access such as Oracle or Sybase. The root user does not have the Oracle or Sybase enviroment variables. I thought you could do... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: bubba112557
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

find command to detect installations

Hi I'm wondering how I can find all the files which were installed on certain date? For example: I'm looking for alle the files which were installed on the 11.09.06 on the system. Does somebody know how to do this? Thanks Reto (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: goldenglobe
2 Replies

4. UNIX and Linux Applications

How to automatically detect command failure