Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming How can I send data to my C converter? Post 302598466 by ws6transam on Tuesday 14th of February 2012 02:02:56 PM
Old 02-14-2012
Thanks for the tip. However, as written, my C program called vdaqconv is still acting as if there is no argument being passed to it, and it defaults to the default directory and displays useage information. It then blows up with a 'terminated by signal 11' error, as no target file exists in the topmost directory. I *will* however, look into xargs more to see if there is an option that is required. I didn't know about xargs, since I'm still learning unix/linux.

edit--

Okay, I see what is going on with xargs. I used the --verbose switch and this was the output being fed to the converter:
First the input:
Quote:
msugws@dynamic-mackeyke-msu:~/Documents/Sample_data/SEY_subset> find . -name 'vdaq.txt'
./SEYSAM05/vdaq.txt
./SEYSAM02/vdaq.txt
./SEYSAM04/vdaq.txt
./SEYSAM01/vdaq.txt
./SEYSAM03/vdaq.txt
msugws@dynamic-mackeyke-msu:~/Documents/Sample_data/SEY_subset>
Next, the command with the --verbose enabled:
Quote:
msugws@dynamic-mackeyke-msu:~/Documents/Sample_data/SEY_subset> find . -name 'vdaq.txt' | xargs --verbose vdaqconv
vdaqconv ./SEYSAM05/vdaq.txt ./SEYSAM02/vdaq.txt ./SEYSAM04/vdaq.txt ./SEYSAM01/vdaq.txt ./SEYSAM03/vdaq.txt

Using default directory and default name vdaq.txt

VDAQ2SEIS Revision {26/JAN/2012} : D Burk, NERSP Engineer,

Usage: vdaq2seis [switches] vdaqfile

vdaqfile = vdaq.txt ascii file (input)
stuff cut here
The path is stored as './viseis.hdr'
Reading file 'vdaq.txt'
xargs: vdaqconv: terminated by signal 11
msugws@dynamic-mackeyke-msu:~/Documents/Sample_data/SEY_subset>