Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Need help with simple Linux commands - NEWBIE here! Post 302595523 by loverangerguy on Friday 3rd of February 2012 11:00:53 AM
Old 02-03-2012
Error Need help with simple Linux commands - NEWBIE here!

Hey guys, I need help with simple unix commands. I'm a newbie to Unix and don't know these commands. Any help is appreciated.
Code:
 1.      Logon to Linux.

2.      Create a directory "Unix" under your home directory.

Command(s): ………………………………………….

3.      Create four sub-directories bin, conf, docs and data under the directory 
"Unix" created by you in step 2. See the directory diagram below:

Command(s): ………………………………………….

4.      Create the document called “sed-info” in your "Unix" directory using touch command.

Command: ………………………………………….

5.      Create the document called “join-info” in your "Unix" directory using touch command.

6.      While in the Unix directory, move the files "sed-info" and "join-info" to directory “docs” using a single UNIX command.

7.      Change to your home directory.

8.      Use a single command to rename and move the “sed-info” from the “docs” directory to the “bin” directory.

9.      Change to the data directory.

10.  While in the data directory create a command that would copy the “sed-info” from the “bin” directory and “join-info” from the docs directory to the “conf” directory using a) absolute paths and b) relative paths.

Command (relative path): ………………………………………….

Command (absolute path): ………………………………………….

11.  Move to your home directory. Create a single command that would delete the Unix directory and all the files and subdirectories of the Unix directory.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

simple commands

Can anybody help me how to display a list of unix commands. I have an account in unix,just start to use it, but don't know how (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: aningsabah
1 Replies