Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting writing a simple script to get total number of cpus/cores in server Post 302591493 by steven12 on Thursday 19th of January 2012 04:04:33 PM
Old 01-19-2012
Hi,

Thanks for your reply.

yeah, I know that different unix flavors requires different commands but I want to start with linux.

what I am trying to do is display number of cpu and cores for each cpu and multiplying both to get total number of cores in the server.

when i change it to echo $num_cpus then where should i use the read command.

thanks,
steve.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need help writing simple script

I'm trying to write a simple unix script that will delete files after 30 days of being created. I've never done this before but conceptually it sounds easy. Here is what I'm trying to do: Get System Date Get File Date If (sysdate-filedate>30days) rm file All of these files are contained... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: tamdoankc
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

HELP! writing simple shell script

how would i write a shell script to show the number of lines in which int variable appears in a c++ program. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: deadleg
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need Script to Use CPUs on a HPUX server to simulate Workload Manager on HPUX.

I am running HPUX and using WLM (workload manager). I want to write a script to fork CPUs to basically take CPUs from other servers to show that the communication is working and CPU licensing is working. Basically, I want to build a script that will use up CPU on a server. Any ideas? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cpolikowsky
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with writing simple bash script