Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Loading a tar file into the shell script Post 302590997 by aigles on Wednesday 18th of January 2012 07:52:18 AM
Old 01-18-2012
Why do you want to use an intermediate variable ?
Simply do :
Code:
cp sample.tar.gz New_Sample.tar.gz

Jean-Pierre.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using tar inside a shell script

Hi, I am using tar cvf inside a shell script to archive files. Is there an option to surpress any prompts which come up if the desired archive name already exists ? Thanks in Advance. Kas. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kas7225
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell Script for Data loading in Oracle

Hi All I am new to unix. I need a shell script to load a datafile in to oracle. I already have a control file, and data file. all I need is if i execute the shell it must load the data using the ctl file to table. Control file : PAY0001.ctl Datafile : mon_grs_det.dat log file :... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: raghuraja_r
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

hi.. how to attach a tar file using shell script

Hi, How to attach a tar file using shell script or the command liine.. I following command just send the mail to the person with .txt file as body, I want to send it as attachment. /usr/sbin/sendmail -f "user1@daemon.com" user2@daemon.com <hi.txt The contents of the hi.txt will be... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: madhumathikv
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell script to selectively tar directory based on date

hye everybody :) , i'm new to the scripting world.. hope you guys can help me out with this one.. i'm trying to identify any directory under /tmp/saya that is created more than one day from the current date.. e.g, today is March 14, so any directory that has time stamp March 13 backwards, i... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: fara_aris
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting