Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting reading file paths from a text file Post 302590032 by pavo-cristatus on Friday 13th of January 2012 02:11:38 PM
Old 01-13-2012
reading file paths from a text file

Hello all,

I am new to scripting and here is what I want to get done.
I need to run some processing on many files. I have a whole bunch of files among which there are a few that I am interested in. What I need to do is to write a script which reads the file paths from a text file. line by line in a loop and passes that path to the next command in my script which runs the selection criteria as to whether this is a file I want or not. How do I do this? i.e.

1) read the path from the text file in a loop and
2) pass the value read to the next command in my script?

Pls help.. Thanks in advance

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

reading text file

I have a text file with 50 munbers. I wanna read these numbers and append "@yahoo.com" and send emails to them using shell scripting.......... How do i read the inetegres from the text file. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jaan
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading text from a file

Guys, I am trying to read text from a file, into arrays. The format of the file is: @DATABASE femotest @PACKAGE_SPECS /usr/home/oracle92/sosa/scripts/test.pks /usr/home/oracle92/sosa/scripts/rep.pks @PACKAGE_BODIES ... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: LiquidChild
12 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with Reading Text from file

Hello, I am having a tough time reading data from an input text file. The input file has lines of data which is comma seperated. Each line represents a record/row, but unfortunately the data in the individual column/fields have spaces and `cat filename`is not returning entire line ( to read... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: yajaykumar
4 Replies

4. Programming

reading a text file in c++