Sponsored Content
Special Forums Windows & DOS: Issues & Discussions Read command result as variable Post 302589995 by Corona688 on Friday 13th of January 2012 10:49:00 AM
Old 01-13-2012
It may be possible using one of for's many strange options but this is something it's always been tortuous to do in Windows CMD; there's no obvious, direct equivalent to backticks like a UNIX shell has.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Windows & DOS: Issues & Discussions

Setting a variable to result of FIND command

I am working on a batch script where a filter is placed on a directory, and the files that come out of that filter have to be copied into another directory. More specifically, I am trying to set the results of a FIND command to a variable, so that I may access this variable / file later. The... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: JP Favara
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

assign subst|grep|sed command result to a variable

Hi, I'm quite new to scripting and I want to modify following line of an existing script: MYVAR=`subst |grep 'L:\\\:' | sed -e 's/.*\\\//'`; What I have to do is to use the content of a variable instead of the constant expression 'L:\\\:' as the grep string to be matched. Assuming I already... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: snowbiker99
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

storing result of a command in variable

For whatever reason I cant seem to fix my syntax to do the following. I want to run a grep and count how many instances come up and store that number in a variable but I keep erroring out. Here's my code in bash: number=grep blah file.txt | wc -l (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: eltinator
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

need sed command to read a path and set to variable