Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk extract certain digits from file with index substr Post 302583537 by sdf on Tuesday 20th of December 2011 04:06:29 PM
Old 12-20-2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bartus11
Does it have to be AWK? Is Perl acceptable?
Don't have perl on my system. Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using Awk in shell script to extract an index of a substring from a parent string

Hi All, I am new to this shell scripting world. Struck up with a problem, can anyone of you please pull me out of this. Requirement : Need to get the index of a substring from a parent string Eg : index("Sandy","dy") should return 4 or 3. My Approach : I used Awk function index to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sandeepms17
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

(awk) compare files in dir with an index file

Using awk I have an index file which has been seperated into 5 fields. The first field contains file names. What I need to do is check to see if a file exists in my current directory that is not in the first field of my index file. If its not i print out a message. Please help! (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: xthexonex
4 Replies

3. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

why the inode index of file system starts from 1 unlike array index(0)

why do inode indices starts from 1 unlike array indexes which starts from 0 its a question from "the design of unix operating system" of maurice j bach id be glad if i get to know the answer quickly :) (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: sairamdevotee
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to serach for Values grater tan 4 digits in a file using Awk Command

Dear All iam looking for a help in how to search for values grreater than 4 numbers. I run the below commad but its still not working awk '{ print $2 " " $5 }' AllRecords | grep "+008" | grep "length" > 4 Can any one help me. Regards Kadir (1 Reply)