Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Understanding permissions
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Understanding permissions Post 302581312 by zdorian on Monday 12th of December 2011 08:24:28 PM
Old 12-12-2011
Understanding permissions

Hi,

I just installed wordpress on localhost, and I have some issues with permissions here. I recently switched to linux, so I'm still learning things.

While I'm installing linux, I can't ( that is wordpress can't ) make file wp-config.php in directory I want to install it /var/www/wordpress

when I do something like this:
Code:
chmod 777 /var/www/wordpress

, everything is fine and I can create file and install wordpress.

Than, I want to install new theme, plugin or make updates. Whenever I try to do this, again I need to change permissions, because I get something like this

than i get back to terminal and type this:
Code:
chown -R www-data:www-data /var/www/wordpress

(someone recommended me this command, I don't what actually does, but it lets me proceed with installation ) . I click Proceed button and theme,plugin,update install easily.

Than, as I'm developing wordpress themes, I need to change file inside /var/www/wordpress/wp-content/themes/themename/header.php, and than I can't write to this file.
Than I type this in terminal:
Code:
chown my_username /var/www/wordpress/wp-content/themes/themename/header.php

and now everything is fine and I can write to file.

Can anyone explain me nicely what I'm doing, and why I'm doing this? It's not about that I make everything work, I want to understand the process here.

I will be very grateful for your help,
regards

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Linux

A little help understanding FIFOs?