Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Need help splitting huge single record file Post 302578861 by leolson on Friday 2nd of December 2011 03:40:06 PM
Old 12-02-2011
Ah ha! That's it. In the back of my mind I knew that you could do regex record separators in awk, but for some reason it never occurred to me to try it here. It worked perfectly.
Thanks a lot!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

splitting a record and adding a record to a file

Hi, I am new to UNIX scripting and woiuld appreicate your help... Input file contains only one (but long) record: aaaaabbbbbcccccddddd..... Desired file: NEW RECORD #new record (hardcoded) added as first record - its length is irrelevant# aaaaa bbbbb ccccc ddddd ... ... ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rsolap
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Splitting a file based on record sin another file

All, We receive a file with a large no of records (records can vary) and we have to split it into two files based on another file. e.g. File1: UHDR 2008112 "25187","00000022","00",21-APR-1991,"" ,"D",-000000519,+0000000000,"C", ,+000000000,+000000000,000000000,"2","" ,21-APR-1991... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: er_ashu
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help on splitting this huge file

Hi , i have files coming in my system which are very huge in MB and GBs, all these files are in a single line, there is no newline character. I need to get only last 700 bytes of these files, of this i am splitting the files by "split -b 700 filename" but this gives all the splitted... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Prateek007
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Splitting the Huge file into several files...

Hi I have to write a script to split the huge file into several pieces. The file columns is | pipe delimited. The data sample is as: 6625060|1420215|07308806|N|20100120|5572477081|+0002.79|+0000.00|0004|0001|......... (3 Replies)