Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: shell type.. /bin/uvalid?
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting shell type.. /bin/uvalid? Post 302575212 by dnam9917 on Monday 21st of November 2011 01:28:45 AM
Old 11-21-2011
shell type.. /bin/uvalid?

Hi,

I gave a command echo $SHELL --> To find out the shell I'm using, which gave me the below output
Code:
echo $SHELL
/bin/uvalid

what does it mean?

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment Please use code tags when posting data and code samples, thank you.

Last edited by Franklin52; 11-21-2011 at 08:09 AM..

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Windows & DOS: Issues & Discussions

How I can burn .bin type file ?!

Hi there recently I download a staroffic and it's come as one binary file "staroffice.bin" I just want to know how I can burn this type of files. thanks in advance Abdulkarim (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: geoquest
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

#!/bin/sh shell question

HI, Nice to meet u... I am a newbie. I have met a problem in the work as following: SRCLOG="/Share/log/testlog/*" SRCLOG="/Share/log/systemlog/*" SRCLOG="/Share/log/log.conf" SRCLOG="/Share/log/message" How can I get the file or directory value from each element of... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: GCTEII
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using #! /bin/sh in Shell scripts

Hi All, What does #! /bin/sh mean in a shell script? Is it mandatory to include in a shell script? I'm able to execute the shell script without it. Any help on this would be appreciated. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: sumesh.abraham
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

fuser: difference with bin/sh and bin/ksh shell script