Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Replace Filename and text inside of directory Post 302570899 by joeyg on Friday 4th of November 2011 03:33:59 PM
Old 11-04-2011

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Replacing text inside a directory

This is my first post to this group.I am new to Unix.I have one requirement I need to replace a text in all the files in a directory and sub-directory.Eg i have a folder structure like /usr/local/abc , inside abc i have several directories and several files. All the files inside abc and all the... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: vatsan
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to replace a text inside a file based on a xml key

<c-param> <param-name>Number</param-name> <param-value>22</param-value> <description>my house number</description> </c-param> <c-param> <param-name>Address</param-name> ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: reldb
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed , Replace a "variable text" inside of a statement

Please Help... I am trying to manipulte the following line Before : <user:Account_Password>002786</user:Account_Password> the password is the "variable", i need to delete / omit the password in the file, (it occurs several thousand times) so the tag line looks like After:... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: jackn7
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace text with filename

Hi, I have a few thousand files, each contains the word "hello". Would it be possible to do a batch job that replaces the word hello with the filename? Thanks. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: calrog
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to do search and replace on text files in directory