Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Unix Socket
Top Forums Programming Unix Socket Post 302565772 by Corona688 on Tuesday 18th of October 2011 05:49:58 PM
Old 10-18-2011
I find you are correct. Spurious data for instance can cause a false ready notification. I've used select() more with terminals than I have with sockets, it seems I have more to learn.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

How can I program socket in unix?

Excuse me . I'm a beginner . In windows , MFC can be used , but how to do in Unix ? And does unix support c++like VC++ ? How can I get developing tools in Unix ? (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: sanjohn
7 Replies

2. HP-UX

Problem in HP-Unix while writing into socket

Our system is having a server and multiple clients. We are monitoring the client FDs using select() system call in HP-UX. After establishing connection-using socket with the remote client, before start sending the data we are checking the status of socket using select( ) call. For first 16... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: AshokG
0 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Unix: socket & Co

Hello, I need help to replace the ................. of client.c that request the server implemented by server.c ------------------ Listing 1 - server.c /* Inclusion des différentes librairies nécessaires */ #include <stdio.h> #include <stdlib.h> #include <unistd.h> #include <string.h> ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: bounkolh
0 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Checking who is listening on a Unix Domain Socket

Hi all, I'm writing a kernel module and part of it involves controlling IPCs between processes. My problem is when a process tries to connect to a Unix domain socket, the only identifying information of the socket it supplies (that I can see, anyway) is the special pathname of the socket. From... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: blank87
0 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers