Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Start script when a user starts a remote session Post 302560622 by kilo90 on Friday 30th of September 2011 11:14:44 AM
Old 09-30-2011
Start script when a user starts a remote session

Howdy,

I'm fairly new at bash scripting, but (for some reason) I've been tasked with building a bastion server and logging all (ssh/telnet) remote activity. Each session must create a unique log file - the name of each file must include the user ID, the connection method (ssh/telnet), the name of the remote host, and a time stamp.I have a basic bash script using the script command (see below).

Users authenticate through Active Directory (Winbind) and use a default lshell, local users do not need to be logged. My two questions are:
1. What's the best way to start and stop the script?
2. How do I capture the remote connection method (ssh or telnet) and the name of the remote host for the log file name?

This is what I have as a framework:
Code:
#!/bin/bash

# Capture keystrokes of a user and log

TIMESTAMP=$(date +%m%d%y%H%M%S)
HOST=$(hostname|cut -f1 -d.)
LOGDIR=/var/log/logging
LOGFILE=${HOST}.${LOGNAME}.${TIMESTAMP}
touch $LOGDIR/$LOGFILE

# Set Prompt
export PS1=.[$LOGNAME:$HOST]@..$PWD> .

chown $LOGNAME ${LOGDIR}/${LOGFILE}
chmod 600 ${LOGDIR}/${LOGFILE}

script ${LOGDIR}/${LOGFILE}
chmod 400 ${LOGDIR}/${LOGFILE}

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by vbe; 09-30-2011 at 01:00 PM.. Reason: next time, use code tags for your code/data

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem with Unix script to start remote Tomcat

I have Tomcat installed on a Unix box and I need to start it remotely from another Unix box. Tomcat is started using a script. When this script is run locally everything is fine. When I run the same script from remote box, tomcat starts but the command running the script does not terminate.:( ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: shrgh