Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help printing files in ascending order of the fi le size (in bytes) Post 302559653 by wessy on Tuesday 27th of September 2011 09:12:42 PM
Old 09-27-2011
Help printing files in ascending order of the fi le size (in bytes)

Hey guys I'm new to unix and need help printing files in a specified directory according to size in bytes as well as files with equal bites in alphabetical order

the part i have done so far prints out all files in the directory as well as setting a time limit in which they have been modified

which looks like
Code:
find $1 -type f -mmin -$(($2*60))

one thing i have tried is
Code:
find $1 -type f -mmin -$(($2*60)) | ls -l |gawk '{print $5,$9|"sort -n"}'

but it seems to be switching the directory and I'm not sure why

anyways if anyone knows where i should start please reply, ty.

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment Video tutorial on how to use code tags in The UNIX and Linux Forums.

Last edited by Franklin52; 09-28-2011 at 04:33 AM.. Reason: Please use code tags, thank you

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Display modified files in ascending order

Hello, i want to display modified files in descending order. "ls -t" will display modified files in descending order. pls help. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: balareddy
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

merge two files in ascending order

Hello Friends, I want to merge two files in ascending order on the first field. And if the first field matches sort on 3rd field i.e, TXADDR should come ahead of RXADDR . file1 9 : TXADDR : 00000000 65 : TXDATA 0000000000000011 83 : TXDATA 0000000000000012 453 :... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: user_prady
10 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

SIZE OF FILES STORE IN WHICH FORMAT bytes or kb in unix?