Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Help with creating a simple program!! Post 302557844 by bshell_1214 on Thursday 22nd of September 2011 08:33:33 AM
Old 09-22-2011
Help with creating a simple program!!

i am new to shell scripting!! i am making this program in bourne shell, that asks the user to input "Hello (their name)" or "question (their name)", any other input, "ERROR" will be outputted.
if they input "Hello (name)", i want to out saying Hello (name) but if they input "question (name)", i want to output "how are you (name)"!

anyone has any idea how to do this?

thanks

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Creating instances of a program

Hi, Presently I have script #!/bin/ksh in which 4 executables are executed as 1,2,3 and 4.Executable 2 is an extract program which extracts records from a table.and executable 4 is a program that updates a database. Currenlty this process takes a hell lot of time and my aim is to reduce the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: tushar_johri
2 Replies

2. Programming

a simple chat program

any suggestions on how i could create a simple chat program between two terminals using pipes? thanks (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kelogs1347
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

creating a simple archiving script

Im trying to create a script to archive specified directories into a specified tarball backup file. This is what i want the input to look like ex. save -i '/bin/b*' -i '/bin/ls' -o backup this is what i have #!/bin/bash #save - backup file script unset myInput unset myOutput while... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: lensmen
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Creating simple shell program