Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: check if files exists
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting check if files exists Post 302557340 by bshell_1214 on Wednesday 21st of September 2011 12:47:49 AM
Old 09-21-2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by itkamaraj
Code:

bash-3.00$ ls *.abc > /dev/null 2>&1 && (echo ".txt files are there";ls *.txt) || echo "No files"                                                           
No files
bash-3.00$ ls *.txt > /dev/null 2>&1 && (echo ".txt files are there";ls *.txt) || echo "No files"                                                           
.txt files are there
new.txt      old.txt

thanks, but is it bourne shell? i am only new to shell scripting!!! please explain!!

thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to check if a direcorty exists?

Hi Good people :D How do I check if a directory exists, if it does then carry on rest of the script, otherwise exit. ------------- cd $mainfolder/system1 #unzips files arrived in last 24 hrs into temp directory find * -mmin -1440 -exec unzip {} \; I'd like to check here if temp... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: SunnyK
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to check if database exists?

Hi folks! First off I'm working with a Sybase DB. I'm using you're basic ISQL command to connect to my Sybase DB... isql -S$DB_SERVER -D$DB_NAME -U$DB_USR -P$DB_PWD <<!EOF > $log_file My question is, is there a way to determine if a database exists using shell script? For example, if... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Fatbob
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

HOW TO CHECK ONLY .C FILES EXISTS OR NOT IN A FOLDER using IF in C shell script?

Hi friends.. I hav a problem.... I dont know how to check .c files exists r not in a folder using IF in C shell script actually i tried like this if(=~ *.c) even though some .c files or there in the current folder..it is not entering int o the if control statement...... (17 Replies)