Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers counting occurrence of characters in a string Post 302557125 by exit86 on Tuesday 20th of September 2011 12:14:42 PM
Old 09-20-2011
Thanks a lot Corona688,

I modified the script you posted to fit my need and having a strange behavior.
The script below works fine on cygwin (on my windows) but when I run it on AIX box the results are different.

Code:
STR="0:0:1:2:0:1:0:0:2:2:1:1:0"
 echo "$STR" | awk 'BEGIN { FS="" }
        { for(N=1;N<=NF;N++) if ($N!=":")  A[$N]++ fi}
        END { for(K in A)  print K, A[K] }'

Cygwin output:
Code:
0 6
1 4
2 3

AIX output:
Code:
0:0:1:2:0:1:0:0:2:2:1:1:0 1

Any ideas? sorry for my ignorance, I am a java developer stuck in doing UNIX scripting Smilie
Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment
Please use code tags when posting data and code samples!

Last edited by vgersh99; 09-20-2011 at 01:24 PM.. Reason: code tags, please!

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

counting characters

Dears, I would like to count the number of "(" and ")" that occur in a file. (syntax checking script). I tried to use "grep -c" and this works fine as long as there is only one character (for which I do a search) on a line. Has anyone an idea how I can count the number of specific characters... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: plelie2
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Counting the number of occurances of all characters (a-z) in a string

Hi, I am trying out different scripts in PERL. I want to take a line/string as an input from the user and count the number of occurrances of all the alphabets (a..z) in the string. I tried doingit like this : #! /opt/exp/bin/perl print "Enter a string or line : "; $string = <STDIN>; chop... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: rsendhilmani
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

counting characters