Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help on untar files in one command Post 302556775 by Corona688 on Monday 19th of September 2011 12:54:22 PM
Old 09-19-2011
That's a useless use of backticks and useless use of cat and almost always better done as

Code:
while read LINE
do
done < filename

As for how to feed all those filenames into tar, if none of the files contain spaces or quotes in filenames, it's easy enough, use xargs. "echo a b c | xargs command" amounts to "command a b c", and it can read from a file.
Code:
xargs tar -xvf filename.tar < tar_list

If possible it will squeeze it alll into one tar call, but for too many files, it may have to break it into a few.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Writing a shell script to untar files

I am new to shell scripting and would appreciate any help I can get. I need to write a Unix shell script that I will run whenever I have a tar file to uncompress(Korn shell). Please put in mind that I have different environements that I will run it on. Thanks in advance ;) (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: nkem22
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how to untar *.dpk files

Hi All, I am unable to untar *.dpkg.md5 using tar command. Could nay one help me out. Thanks & Regards Gauri (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: gauri
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How can you UnTar files to a different directory?

Suppose you have a TAR file created with a different directory structure and you need to UnTar (or explode) the files to a different directory structure. How can this be done? If TAR command cannot do this, are there any other alternatives (any other command) available to UnTar a .Tar file? ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: joshivaibhav
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

untar