Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to write a script for text file encryption? Post 302550833 by shanbalao on Saturday 27th of August 2011 11:22:37 PM
Old 08-28-2011
How to write a script for text file encryption?

Hi All,

I have zero knowledge in UNIX, so i desperately need the help from you guys.

I need a script which can encrypt all the text files in one shot in a source directory.
After all the text files are encrypted, they will be put into a separate folder.

Command involve:
gpg with -a, --armor

eg.
Before encyption:
/main/project/sorce/file1.txt
/main/project/sorce/file2.txt
/main/project/sorce/file3.txt

Before encyption:
/main/project/target/file1.txt.gpg
/main/project/target/file2.txt.gpg
/main/project/target/file3.txt.gpg

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

encryption of text file for ftp

How can I encrypt a file before ftp'ing it. I am creating a text file abc.dat and I want to encrypt that file with same name and ftp it to a remote server. Please advise. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: dchalavadi
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

File encryption/Key encryption ????

My dilemma, I need to send, deemed confidential, information via e-mail (SMTP). This information is sitting as a file on AIX. Typically I can send this data as a e-mail attachment via what we term a "mail filter" using telnet. I now would like to somehow encrypt the data and send it to a e-mail... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: hugow
1 Replies

3. Programming

how to write Microsoft Access MDB file to a text file, using C ?

I'm in the UNIX environment. I'd like to read a Microsoft Access MDB file, and write the contents of that file into an ASCII text file. I want to write a C program to do this. Does anyone know if there's already source code out there that does this? Please advise. Thanks. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: serendipity1276
3 Replies