Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting 'for LINE in $(cat file)' breaking at spaces, not just newlines Post 302548595 by natedawg1013 on Thursday 18th of August 2011 09:23:31 PM
Old 08-18-2011
'for LINE in $(cat file)' breaking at spaces, not just newlines

Hello. I'm making a (hopefully) simple shell script xml parser that outputs a file I can grep for information. I am writing it because I have yet to find a command line utility that can do this. If you know of one, please just stop now and tell me about it. Even better would be one I can input the XML file and path to the data (below example would be "foo/bar/c") and get the value. I know this can easily be done in python, but I have no experience in that and I want to make it part of a bigger program.

My goal, if writing the full parser, is to have the input file, for example,
Code:
<foo a="1">
    <bar b="2" c="Some string">
    </bar>
</foo>

output something like
Code:
foo.a="1"
foo.bar.b="2"
foo.bar.c="Some string"

The way I thought about doing this was
Code:
for LINE in $(cat file.xml)
do
if [ -n "$(echo $LINE | grep '<.*>' | grep -ve '<\/.*>')"

followed by how to parse it if it's an open tag <tag> and an if statement for ending tags </tag>.

NOW HERE'S THE PROBLEM:
"cat file.xml" works perfectly in terminal, but when using it in a for loop, assigning it to an array, or anything else, it breaks at spaces and newlines, not just newlines thus if I echoed $LINE in the for loop, the output would be
Code:
<foo
a="1">
<bar
b="2"
c="some
string">
</bar>
<foo>

which works fine for numeric values, but some some of my values are strings with spaces in their data which breaks the code since the value is split in half.

How can I get $LINE to be the full line, not just what's between two spaces? Or what command line utility could extract a piece of information from an XML file?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting