Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Diff between calling a shell script with ./ and . ./ Post 302548554 by SasDutta on Thursday 18th of August 2011 05:23:03 PM
Old 08-18-2011
Diff between calling a shell script with ./ and . ./

Hi ALL

I have a shell script named setUP in which i am sourcing one variable like

source var_name="CLASSPATH".

When i call it as ./setUP, it does not set the var_name variable. But when i call it like . ./setUP then var_name is set up. What is the difference between this two calls?

Thanks in advance
Sas

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Calling shell script ?

hi friends, i'm new to unix and straight away i had to start with the script files. I've a script file which gets called from a menu item on a GUI. This script file again calls .awk file, in performing some tasks , which also generates certain files. I modified the files to generate some... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Ravi_Kandula
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Calling Shell Script

Hello Friends, I have bash script on unix server which i want to call from windows server. Basically i want a command line which will call this script on unix server. Any one has any idea regarding this? Help really appreciated!! Thanks, Roshni. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: onlyroshni
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Calling shell functions from another shell script

Hi, I have a query .. i have 2 scripts say 1.sh and 2.sh 1.sh contains many functions written using shell scripts. 2.sh is a script which needs to call the functions definded in 1.sh function calls are with arguments. Can some one tell me how to call the functions from 2.sh? Thanks in... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: jisha
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Calling another shell script