Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Help with KSH Shell Script
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with KSH Shell Script Post 302545797 by Scott on Tuesday 9th of August 2011 01:58:37 PM
Old 08-09-2011
Do you need to use the l (ell) option of ls? That would leave xargs trying to remove (i.e.) -rw-r--r--, which most likely doesn't exist!

Code:
$ ls -l hello.txt | xargs echo rm    
rm -rw-r--r-- 1 scott staff 0 16 Sep 2010 hello.txt

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Mailx in shell script (KSH)

Greetings all, I'm pretty new to the use of mailx, having been using mutt most of the time. I'm interested to know how I can use mailx within a shell script to send out a formatted email with the following criterion: 1. My recipient's address is abcdef1000@gmail.com 2. The message body is... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rockysfr
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

ssh into a shell script (KSH)

Hi all, Just like to ask if it is possible to do the following: 1. Have a shell script that calls ssh username@destinationhost 2. Upon successful verification, we ssh into the destination host and automatically use ksh to run a shell script that resides in the destination host. (Hopefully no... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: rockysfr
8 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Awk in ksh shell script - help

Hello, Im a beginner. Im writing a ksh script with awk. Is it possible to assign the output of the awk to a shell variable? Like, shell_variable= awk '$1 == "shell" {abc= $2 }' /tmp/cust_det echo $shell_variable Please excuse my ignorance. Thanks in advance. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Nic_writes
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with ksh shell script