Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Reading the data from CSV and performing search through shell script Post 302542873 by Chubler_XL on Friday 29th of July 2011 12:32:22 AM
Old 07-29-2011
How about something like this:

Code:
SRC=/home/search/files/
DEST=/home/search/result/
find $SRC -print | while read file
do
     DPATH=`echo $file | sed "s:$SRC:$DEST:"`
     DDIR=`dirname $DPATH`
     while read string
     do
         grep -qi $string $file && {
             mkdir -p $DDIR
             echo Copying $file to ${DPATH}_${string}
             cp -p $file ${DPATH}_${string}
         }
     done < /home/search/search.csv
done

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

reading data from excel using shell script

Hi all I am new to shell scripting. I need to write a shell script that reads each row of an USER_ID colume in a excel file. the excel has around 10000 rows of data. Can someone gives me some example or advice what's best way to do this thanks (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: tiger99
11 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script to format a .CSV data

Hi There I needed to write a Unix shell script which will pick up the data from a .CSV file and reformat it as per the requirement and write it to another .CSV file. Currently I am in the proess of Data Import to "Remedy System" (A one kind of incident mangement Application) and this... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: Uday1982
8 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading data from a file through shell script

There is one Text file data.txt. Data within this file looks like: a.sql b.sql c.sql d.sql ..... ..... want to write a shell script which will access these values within a loop, access one value at a time and store into a variable. can anyone plz help me. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Dip
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

shell script to format .CSV data