Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting if PATH contains a certain string problem! Post 302542784 by vas28r13 on Thursday 28th of July 2011 03:11:32 PM
Old 07-28-2011
if PATH contains a certain string problem!

Hi I am using MKS Toolkit c shell.

I want to basically check if my PATH variable already contains a certain path directory so I tried this (it didnt work!): if: Expression Syntax

Code:
if ( echo $path |grep -c c:/PROGRA~1/blah/blah ) then

please help me get this little statement to work.

Thank you!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

cc path problem - no acceptable path found

Hello everyone, I'm a unix noob. I have a powerbook running mac os x 10.4 and for one of my classes I need to install the latest version of php (5.0.5). I'm following the instructions at http://developer.apple.com/internet/opensource/php.html to install but I've run into a problem. The... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kendokendokendo
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How To Replace A String In File With A String Containing Windows File Path

Hi, I have a file with the following contents # Lines that start with a # are comments. # # Calling TOAD like this will perform a comparison from command line : # # "C:\Program Files\Quest Software\Toad for Oracle 9.6\toad.exe" -c... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rajan_san
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to select the path that contains a certain string from a certain file?

Hi, I am new to this world of shell programming. I am facing a problem that is : I have directory which has many sub directories at different depth. say A/B/C/files A/B/files A/B/C/D/files In this directory structure there exists a file called ".project" in some of the sub... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: bhaskar_m
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

taking a part of string from a given path