Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting [Basic Query]bsh script in tcsh shell Post 302540205 by animesharma on Wednesday 20th of July 2011 03:09:30 AM
Old 07-20-2011
[Basic Query]bsh script in tcsh shell

I am a beginner (Just 2 days oldSmilie ), i will really appreciate if you can solve my silly queries as below:

Lets say i write a script like this

Code:
#!/bin/bsh
clear
#to read name from keyboard
echo "your name please.."
read fname
echo "you just entered $fname"
exit 0

My environment is set to work in tcsh.
My query are:
a) how does placing !/bin/bsh as comment results in its execution as bsh shell? AS i am a beginner, i need to know if it is an exception ? how does placing a path as comment affects the execution of code.

b)If, say i place the path as second line of my comment. assume my first two lines are as below

#just comment
#!/bin/bsh

The code executed, but i also get some errors which says command not found.

c) Is it compulsorily to place "exit 0" at the end of every script? where should it be used?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

A basic query

In a Bourne shell script, I often come across statements involving `sh -c`. I was not able to make out if any reason is there behind that. example: echo `sh -c 'date'` killing all server processes Instead of the above, I can use echo `date` killing all server processes. Is there any... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: asutoshch
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Basic Shell script syntax help

Hi All, I am new to shell scripting. I have a variable which holds a numeric value.I have to check whether this variable holds a value between(0- 8),(8-17)(17-24).How do i write this syntax using if in shell scripting. Thanks Vignesh (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vignesh53
2 Replies

3. SCO

Bsh shell on SCO