Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting counting lines containing two column field values with awk Post 302532792 by origamisven on Wednesday 22nd of June 2011 05:52:22 AM
Old 06-22-2011
counting lines containing two column field values with awk

Hello everybody,
I'm trying to count the number of consecutive lines in a text file which have two distinctive column field values. These lines may appear in several line blocks within the file, but I only want a single block to be counted.

This was my first approach to tackle the problem (I'm a beginner, so be gentle Smilie) ...

# find line in which pattern INT appears for the first time in file topology
Code:
NR_1st_int=$(awk -v var="$INT" '$0~var {print NR}' topology | sed '1 !d')

# print molecule number of field 5 in that line into MOL
Code:
MOL_int=$(awk -v line_int="$NR_1st_int" 'NR==line_int {print $5}' topology)

# count number of lines that INT and MOL appear IN THE FILE
Code:
NINT=$(awk -v var1="$INT" -v var2="$MOL_int" 'BEGIN { count=0 } { if (( $4 == var1 ) && ( $5 == var2 )) count++} END{print count}' topology)

The main problem is that this (bad) code does not restrict the number NINT to a single block of occurring lines, which I need.

I've tried working with some loops but I messed it up every time. Can you help me out?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help with switching field/column values

Hi all, I need some help on switching field/column values. For example I have a file name data.txt which contains: a b a b a b and I want to switch a and b and save it to the same file. the file data.txt then will have: b a b a b a The problem is, well, I know how to... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: sonyd8
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Awk counting lines with field match