Sponsored Content
Operating Systems SCO Install Hang OpenServer 6 - SATA CDROM Post 302532630 by millosman on Tuesday 21st of June 2011 12:41:59 PM
Old 06-21-2011
Install Hang OpenServer 6 - SATA CDROM

Hi all

Can anybody offer any help with installing Openserver 6 on a Supermicro server?
I am familiar with installing OS5, but this is my first time with v6.
The PC is fitted with Supermicro X8DTL-I Dual Xeon motherboard and 2 Xeon E5620 processors, and 16Gb Ram, LSI MegaRaid SAS8708 8 port RAID controller, & 7 SAS disks.

Unfortuantely there are no IDE controllers onboard, so the CDROM drive is SATA, but configured in the Bios to be ''IDE''. It seems the SCO doesn't like this device.

The system boots off the SCO CD ok to start with, but when I try to load additional HBA drivers either off the SCO Media, or from a CD made from the LSI installation CD containing drivers for the RAID card, the install just says ' Processing drivers...' and hangs. There is no activity on the CD drive from this point on, and I am forced to reboot.

(Also, the machine does not have a floppy drive).

Has anyone any ideas why the machine is hanging?
I have tried reducing RAM to 4Gb, reducing number of active Cores in CPUs to 1 each, turning off all performance related parameters in the BIOS but to no avail.

I attached a USB CD drive, with similar results - the only difference was I got a Timeout message whilst trying to load HBA drivers rather than a Hang, so I am guessing the issue relates to the CD drive.

I noticed a Driver supplement patch 7.1.4d on SCO site which relates to SATA CDROM's not emulating IDE properly, but I cannot get this patch on either which I've been trying to do through the 'Add additional HBA drivers' section early in the install. Again the CD drive just hangs... Catch 22!

Any advice anyone? Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. SCO

sco openserver 5.0.2 cdrom