Sponsored Content
Special Forums IP Networking Problem accessing my domain from some computers Post 302529087 by Percyval on Wednesday 8th of June 2011 12:53:02 PM
Old 06-08-2011
Data Problem accessing my domain from some computers

I hope I'm posting this in the right forum...

Hi, I'm a newbie trying to set up my own home web server. I have an old laptop where I have a LAMP set up.

Virgin Media won't give me a static IP so I am using dyndns, my IP hasn't changed for months anyway...

So the problem is this...

The domain is leatherheadmfc.co.uk . From within the same network connection I can access the domain no problems. From my mobile phone, on a different network I can also access the domain with no problems.

However, I cannot reach the domain from any other computer outside of the network. A friend of mine from Poland was able to, but in the UK I have tried 3-4 computers with no luck, all give the standard 'Could not reach this page' error message. I have tried prefacing the domain with http:// to make sure, no luck.

Also, I cannot access my IP which is 82.3.228.202 (correct at time of posting, like I said it's not static). I can access it from my mobile and get the standard Apache page, as expected. I can also ping the IP and domain and get the correct response.

I thought at first it might be the DNS propagating slowly but it has been about 10 days now and I don't think that explains the direct IP not working anyway!

I would really appreciate any help anyone can give! If you need me to provide more information then let me know.

Thanks!

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. IP Networking

domain name problem

Oct 8 05:01:50 servername sendmail: My unqualified host name (servername) unknown; sleeping for retry Oct 8 05:02:50 servername sendmail: unable to qualify my own domain name (servername) -- using short name hi, dmesg catch this error. so what is it about and what shall i rectify about it? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: yls177