Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Creating a syllable concordance Post 302522297 by gimley on Saturday 14th of May 2011 08:21:21 AM
Old 05-14-2011
Sorry,
I used to work in C and Java and am still learning Perl and Awk. The programs are faster and do much better work than a long program in C. Guess I still have a long way to go in Perl.

5 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

CREATING A SYLLABLE CONCORDANCE WITH POSITIONAL VARIANTS

Hello, Some time back I had posted a request for a syllable concordance in which if a syllable was provided in a file, the program would extract a word from a file entitled "Corpus" matching that syllable. The program was The following script was provided which did the job and for which I am... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: gimley
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Syllable splitter in Perl

Hello, I am a relative newbie and want to split Names in English into syllables. Does anyone know of a perl script which does that. Since my main area is linguistics, I would be happy to add rules to it and post the perl script back for other users. I tried the CPan perl modules but they don't... (6 Replies)
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Writing a clustering concordance for a Perso-Arabic script

I am working on a database of a language using Arabic Script. One of the major issues is that the shape of the characters changes according to their initial, medial or final positioning. Another major issue is that of the clustering of vowels within the word: the clustering changes totally the... (9 Replies)
9 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Modifying an awk script for syllable splitting