Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting uniq not working, so any alternate? Post 302521622 by rmcc4444 on Wednesday 11th of May 2011 11:50:42 PM
Old 05-12-2011
Try this...

Code:
sort temp | uniq -u

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

alternate rows of a file

hi all is there any process in which i can get alternate rows of a file.i want to do further processing on those alternate rows.i want to select row1,row3,row5.... like this from a file. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: dr46014
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Alternate way for echo.

Hi, Is there any other command echo does. if I am doing this operation for each line in my file. So its taking very long time to process more than 1000 records. Is there any alternative way to write the above if statement (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: senthil_is
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

alternate lines

Hi, I'm new to Unix. I want to read the all the lines from a text file and write the alternate lines into another file. Please give me a shell script solution. file1 ----- one two three four five six seven newfile(it should contain the alternate lines from the file1) ------- one... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: pstanand
6 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Difference between plain "uniq" and "uniq -u"

Dear all, It's not entirely clear to me from manpage the difference between them. Why we still need "-u" flag? - monkfan (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: monkfan
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Wants alternate to the Sleep option??

I am new to Shell Scripting and I need help to write the following script in a different format... This is the current script: #!/usr/bin/ksh environment=rms export environment . $AW_HOME/RETEK/exec/RETEK_ENVAR ls -ltr $MMPOS/RTLOG* | tr -s " " | cut -d " " -f9... (20 Replies)
Discussion started by: satyajit007
20 Replies

6. Shell Programming and Scripting