Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting count of files and number of bytes Post 302516378 by cfajohnson on Friday 22nd of April 2011 07:27:11 PM
Old 04-22-2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jack1985
1) I need a shell code to count the number of files ( without directories or sub-directories ) in a directory given as arguments.
No need for an external command:
Code:
#!/bin/bash

dir=${1:-.}

shopt -s nullglob

nfiles()
{
  numfiles=$#
}

nfiles "$dir/"*
files=$numfiles

nfiles "$dir/"*/
dirs=$numfiles

printf "Files: %d\n" "$(( $files - $numfiles ))"
printf " Dirs: %d\n" "$dirs"

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Count number of files in subdirectories

Hello, I am new to unix and would like to have a count of all the files in the current directory as well as all the files in a subdirectory. The command I used was ls -R | wc -l but the number returned wasn't correct. Can someone please help? Thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cbeverly
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Count the number of files in a directory

Hi All, How do i find out the number of files in a directory using unix command ? (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: Raynon
14 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

count number of files in a directory

what's the script to do that? i want to only count the number of files in that directory, not including any sub directories at all (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: finalight
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Count number of files in directory excluding existing files

Hi, Please let me know how to find out number of files in a directory excluding existing files..The existing file format will be unknown..each time.. Thanks (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ammu
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash script to find the number of files and identify which ones are 0 bytes.