Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Finding longest line in a Record Post 302515078 by matrixmadhan on Tuesday 19th of April 2011 02:10:45 AM
Old 04-19-2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by pravin27
Could this help you?
Code:
len=3
awk -v l=$len 'length($1)>l { l=length($1);rec=$0} END {print l," ", rec}' inputfile

Its not $1, its $0 - small change to what you have posted

Code:
awk -v l=0 'length($0)>l { l=length($0);rec=$0} END {print l," ", rec}' inputfile

This User Gave Thanks to matrixmadhan For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Finding a character in first line of a record

HI, I am pretty new to Unix scripting. I will need help in Finding a character in first line of a file or a set of files. The scenario is as follows: Lets consider a set of files which is having a character "ID"(without quotes) in the first line of each file.I need to find this character... (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: bsandeep_80
14 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Find the length of the longest line

Dear All, To find the length of the longest line from a file i have used wc -L which is giving the proper output... But the problem is AIX os does not support wc -L command. so is there any other way 2 to find out the length of the longest line using awk or sed ? Regards, Pankaj (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: panknil
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Finding longest common substring among filenames

I will be performing a task on several directories, each containing a large number of files (2500+) that follow a regular naming convention: YYYY_MM_DD_XX.foo_bar.A.B.some_different_stuff.EXT What I would like to do is automatically discover the part of the filenames that are common to all... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: cmcnorgan
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash script find longest line/lines in several files