Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Finding longest line in a Record Post 302515074 by Franklin52 on Tuesday 19th of April 2011 02:02:31 AM
Old 04-19-2011
Is this a homework assignment?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Finding a character in first line of a record

HI, I am pretty new to Unix scripting. I will need help in Finding a character in first line of a file or a set of files. The scenario is as follows: Lets consider a set of files which is having a character "ID"(without quotes) in the first line of each file.I need to find this character... (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: bsandeep_80
14 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Find the length of the longest line

Dear All, To find the length of the longest line from a file i have used wc -L which is giving the proper output... But the problem is AIX os does not support wc -L command. so is there any other way 2 to find out the length of the longest line using awk or sed ? Regards, Pankaj (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: panknil
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Finding longest common substring among filenames

I will be performing a task on several directories, each containing a large number of files (2500+) that follow a regular naming convention: YYYY_MM_DD_XX.foo_bar.A.B.some_different_stuff.EXT What I would like to do is automatically discover the part of the filenames that are common to all... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: cmcnorgan
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash script find longest line/lines in several files

Hello everyone... I need to find out, how to find longest line or possibly lines in several files which are arguments for script. The thing is, that I tried some possibilities before, but nothing worked correctly. Example when i use: awk ' { if ( length > L ) { L=length ;s=$0 } }END{ print... (23 Replies)
Discussion started by: 1tempus1
23 Replies